Octave Variations

Written in 1954 whilst a student at Bretton Hall, for a recorder quartet we formed there. Octave Variations was first published by Schott & Co Ltd in 1974. It has been out of print for some years but is now available again from this website, and includes a recently added 8th Variation entitled Fughetta.

The piece is based on an original Theme, which uses all eight notes of a melodic minor scale, perhaps a sideswipe at the twelve-tone obsession prevailing at the time, and each of the following six Variations features a different interval of the scale, e.g. a 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc., Variation 8, added recently, is a short Fughetta and the piece concludes with a lively Finale.
The work is dedicated to the other members of the original
Quartet, Frank, Alex and Tony.

A sampled version may be heard below, together with score extracts from each Variation.

Prize winning Consort Audite Nova performed the Variations at a Leeds University Concert in 2012.

14 pages, 178 bars
Performance time approx: 7:15 mins

Price £12.95 Includes Full Score and a separate part for each instrument
UK Postage: £2.25 Royal Mail First Class 1, despatched within 5 working days
World: £5.50 Royal Mail International Standard 5 to 7 days

Stacks Image 1173
Stacks Image 1258
Stacks Image 1256
Stacks Image 1230
Stacks Image 1234
Stacks Image 1228
Stacks Image 1144
Stacks Image 1236
Stacks Image 1154
Stacks Image 1245
Stacks Image 1247